Uncategorized

Insights about 1 Corinthians

 

I have always been interpreting 1 Corinthians in a personal level. I always use the quotes in this chapter to comfort myself when I need encouragement. Sometimes, I use some of the verses to motivate other people. When asked about the definition of Love, I always quote something from this meaningful chapter.

 

Now that I am reading the first epistle of Paul to the Corinthians, I understood where is He coming from. I now understood that there were deeper meaning in this chapter. In previous chapters, Paul is rebuking the Corinthians in how they live as a body of Christ or as a church. Paul attacks the problems that the church in Corinth was suffering.

 

The characteristics of love in the 1 Corinthians may reflect the opposite traits of its members. Paul pointed out the negative traits of the church people in the previous chapters. As a result, he advised how they should live with love.

 

While I was having my devotion for today, I realized that the situation of the Corinthians is somewhat similar to what our church is currently experiencing. Perhaps, this kind of love should cover ourselves so that we will be able to grow as a church of God. I know it is hard, but by God’s grace, I believe that this is workable.

 

I remember that a few years ago, somebody taught me that we can replace “love” in the chapter with “God” and it really made sense. It is reinforced in the book of John when the author said that God is actually love.

 

I am praying that one day what Paul has said will happen in our church. Pau said, “But when perfection comes, the imperfect disappears.” I hope that we will be able to acknowledge God’s wonderful love to us, so we can show the same love to our brethrens. 😀

Leave a Reply

