teaching

Recognizing Your Role

roles

Helping students recognize their roles in life allowed me to fully recognize mine.

When I had the first glimpse of the learning material and curriculum guide for third year, I felt so excited because it is not far different in how I begin the school year.

Now that I am in a new school, I still continued my mission in igniting the passion of my students as I prompted them to identify their dreams in life. While most students were expecting to have the criteria for rating, sets of rules, and lists of requirements on the first day of the school year, I lay before them things to ponder that gave them a greater purpose on why they have to come to school on a daily basis.

Like what I have been doing for several years, I posted the names of Socrates, Plato, Aristotle, and Alexander the Great on the board. I asked them if they knew any of those people. I tried to elicit from them the relationship of one to another, and finally, I told them why Alexander the Great was considered great.

Alexander the great did not only learn from his teachers, but he made something out of what he learned. He conquered half of the world. In the same manner, I told my students that whatever lessons they will get from the classroom would not matter, unless they see them happening in real life. I challenge them to extend what they’re learning and always draw connections in their present life. I impressed on them the importance of their education and how it plays an important part of their grand future. The looks of each pair of eyes responded with hope and as I accept each nod, I realized that I have a greater task for the year–a task that is far greater than giving scores, checking papers, and making lesson plan. I have to teach that change lives.

We did a mantra that goes “I am [student’s name] the great. I want to become [student’s dream].” In the end, every single person in the room made a commitment that they will be great someday.

As a whole, I can say that every first day is a memorable day for a teacher because on that day, he starts history.

#sirpimentel

2 thoughts on “Recognizing Your Role

Leave a Reply

