article · Uncategorized

Charlie and the Chocolate Factory

Charliechocolate

Yes, I am already an adult, but that doesn’t keep me from appreciating the children’s book that I’ve recently finished reading — Roald Dahl’s Charlie and the Chocolate Factory.

 

I’ve known this book few years ago, but it was only just recently that I took the time and gave this book a try. My decision has been worthwhile.
When I started reading it, I couldn’t help but imagine the story as if I see what’s going on with Charlie and how he is able to get the ticket to Mr. Wonka’s Chocolate Factory. My mouth was even watering to the point that I even bought chocolates for myself.

 

This book has reminded me few important truths in life.

 

Our imagination activates our creativity.  As far as imagination is concerned, I think the most blessed individuals are always the children. Dahl’s children’s tale brought me to an amazing world of chocolate. Most of the time, we lose our imagination as we enter adulthood. Reading the book made me remember the days when I was a child and experienced what Charlie experienced — a difficult childhood life. We were not rich, and there were times that things could not be enough. Despite that fact, I enjoyed my childhood because of my family and of the little things that brought me joy. When I was young, I was also able to imagine a world similar to the Chocolate Factory. I imagined that our house has elevators going downward. I loved playing street games before, and I thought that our underground contains sections for entertainment. There’s a room full of teks, cards, marbles,  and other toys. There’s also a room that looks like a mini-theater. Whenever I couldn’t sleep, I dreamed that we owned an amusement park or a resort underground. Sometimes, I sketched them on paper. I can’t help but smile whenever I read the book because I can relate to the extent where we can travel in our imagination.

 

The good always gets the biggest reward. There were five children who won the trip in Mr. Wonka’s Chocolate Factory. All of them got the truck full of chocolate supplies in the end, but it was Charlie who got the best prize — the entire Chocolate Factory. Charlie’s pure heart made him earn the prize. At present, many of us act like the other four defiant children. The book has indeed taught lessons to children and even adults who lack self-control and too egocentric.

 

We should never lose hope. Most adults wear the black hat. They always avoid giving children too much hope. But in the book, the narrator stresses, “There was one other thing that grown-ups also knew, and it was this: that however small the chance might be on striking lucky, the chance was there. The chance HAD to be there.” Life is too hard for humanity, but we should never lose hope in everything. Things might get worse and impossible, but we should always have faith in God. We must continue to hold on and stick to our dreams. We’ll never expect that the next time we step our feet forward, we will be able to see and touch our wildest dreams.

 

I am glad that I’ve visited the Chocolate Factory. I’m looking forward to read more Children’s book. I will find time.

 

I’ll watch the movie soon, too.

 

Leave a Reply

