article · teaching

Humor in Class

I planned to teach “explicit and implicit meaning” using the song “Let It Go” from the movie “Frozen.”

 

The procedure was already written in the leaner’s material for English 10, and all I had to do was follow it, but on a sunny Monday, I had another plan.

 

I was sick with slight fever and runny nose, but I was determined to make a difference on a very challenging first day of the week. I made a lot of impromptu jokes.

 

I started my lesson by asking “what else do you learn at school besides knowledge and information.” After a minute to think, I called the birthday celebrators. I had a list of birthdays attached in my lesson plan. I did not make it obvious that I was calling just the celebrators. After I called all of them, I ordered the class to sing “Happy Birthday.” I do it every first day of the month. Then, I went back to my question to entertain other students who wished to answer my question.

 

After that, I introduced the lesson “Strengths and Weaknesses” and asked students their ideas about it. I segued in giving feedback on my students’ strengths and weaknesses in the brochures that they submitted to me.

 

Speaking of weakness, I told them to sing the song “Let It Go” by group. The funniest part of my act happened during the singing. There were four groups.

 

I asked each group to sing. I did not do anything during the performance of the first group. When the second group sang, I doodled a map of the Philippines on the white board and wrote “Weather forecast.” As the group sang louder, I drew a bigger concentric circles that suggested a typhoon. I asked them to sing louder and I drew a map of USA and even the planet Mercury. The class erupted in laughter.

 

Then, I asked the third group to sing. The timing was right because some of the singers were gloomy in tone, so I walked in front pushing the teacher’s table as if I was in a procession. During the process, the class again erupted in laughter.

 

Finally, I told the last group to sing. As expected, the last group will give their best in singing, so I imitated the main character in the movie “Frozen.” As the students sang, I pretended to be throwing ice everywhere. The class erupted in laughter another time.

 

I thought my jokes had already ended, but when I asked for the meaning of the song, I had a follow up humor. A student attempted not to answer to my question and she said, “No comment, Sir.” I told her that she seemed to be a famous star. At the moment, there was a joke on social media that says “How to be you po” to people who act so famous. Then, I asked the student who refused to answer “How to be you po” and the class again laughed out loud.

 

Then, I continued on discussing implicit and explicit meaning.

 

Yes, humor is not always planned. It often comes out impromptu, but being in the laughing moment makes the classroom less stressful and more conducive place for learning.  I really enjoyed that lesson.

Leave a Reply

