article

Reading 67 Books in 2016

Since 2014, I’ve recorded the books that I finished. This 2016 I am thrilled that I was able to finish 67 books.

Actually, my goal for this year is to finish 60 books only, so going beyond my target made me stark happy. In fact, I read many great books this year.

Let me share my journey this 2016…

Little Children is the first thick book that I finished in two days. I already watched the movie few years back, and I was very intrigued with the book, which I bought two or three years ago. That’s why I read it. The book did not fail me.

I like Rasmus’s Touch, but I got somewhat disappointed with his Love. Period. It didn’t meet even half of my expectations.

I Dare You to Change is the first best inspirational book that I’ve read this year. It highlights the story of Gideon, and it somehow encouraged me in a month when I felt discouraged.

I just continued reading Para sa Hopeless Romantic because I just borrowed the book. I rarely read Filipino novel, but I found this book ordinary. Although I like Marcelo Santos’s post on Facebook. This book of his is just not my taste.

David Levithan’s and Gayle Forman’s Every Day Series and Just One Day Series are the best young adult book series that I ever read. So far they remain my favorite.

I also watched the movie Gone Girl, but Gillian Flynn’s original novel was a challenging read. The book is so thick although it only revolves around a couple and their sides of the story. This is the first time I enjoyed and finished a thriller/suspense book.

Robyn Schneider’s The Beginning of Everything and Extraordinary Means are also enjoyable books. Her stories made me want to go back in high school as a student. The voices of the characters seem real.

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak is also a difficult book to read. It’s thick. It’s the first historical novel that I read seriously.

Frank McCourt disppointed me in ‘Tis. His Angelas’ Ashes was my first favorite book before. After reading Teacher Man, he redeemed himself wherever he is right now. I can relate to his experiences as a public school English teacher.

Matthew Quick’s Silver Linings has a lot of insights, but I like the movie more than the book, which is rare because most books are better than the movie. Maybe the movie adaptation was too good that it surpassed its original form.

My favorite movie is Argo, but the book by Antonio Mendez is another hard book to read. It’s too technical, so it’s hard to visually imagine the story.

Charlie and the Chocolate Factory is a children’s book that I like after The Little Prince. I can’t believe I’ve never read this book before.

Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day by Judith Viorst is the only audio book that I finished this year. This caught my attention because this story is often mentioned in the novels that I read like John Green’s.

When the Rainbow Ends is one of the rare chick flicks that fascinated me. It’s a good read. This is the book where the movie Love, Rosie is based. The author, Cecilia Ahern, is known for the book/movie P.S. I Love You.

The Namesake by Jhumpa Lahiri offers a good story line. Lahiri knows how to tell a story that punches the heart.

Don’t Sweat the Small Stuff is the best self-help book that I’ve read so far. From then, I just tried to ignore some small stuff.

Fast Food Fiction is the first and only book that I read while I’m on a plane.

I read Moment Maker on a rainy day, and it hit me big time. There are nice and inspirational anecdotes in the book.

Haruki Murakami is a genius. I read two of his books Blind Willow, Sleeping Woman and Kapka on the the Shore. His style will really make the reader think. Although somehow, his books are difficult read, the ambiguousness of the events stirs deep interest and curiosity in the reader’s mind. I always remember Nakata and the talking cats.

Outliers is the best nonfiction book that I’ve read to date. Gladwell tells his point in a way that’s easy to understand without missing to fascinate the reader. I discovered a lot in his book.

Seriously I’m Kidding is the funniest humorous book that I read. Elen Degeneres is a master storyteller. That’s my first time to read that kind of genre, and I enjoyed it.

The Greatest Salesman in the World might be written decades ago, but Og Mandino’s wit is still relevant to our age. I like his book.

All the Bright Places and The Serpent King are books I bought in 2016. I don’t usually buy a brand new book close to its publication year, but I was curious to their ad blurbs. Their Goodreads rating are also impressive. So I bought the book and read it. These books are amazing.

Of all the books that I read this year, R.J. Palacio’s Wonder won my heart. It’s my most favorite book in 2016. I really love Auggie’s character, and how he and his friends told his tale.

I read Rainbow Rowell’s Eleanor and Park years back, and it was good. Her short story “Kindred Spirits” is a short enjoyable book.

I finished The Purpose of Christmas years ago, but reading it again revealed the message of Christmas. I am awakened.

This year made me love buying and reading my books more.

 my-reading-list-2016

Leave a Reply

