article

Hacksaw Ridge

When I first saw the trailer of “Hacksaw Ridge,” I knew by then that it would be a great movie.

Well, it was, and I wish I should have watched it on big screen. I don’t watch war movies very often except if the movie really caught my attention.

“Hacksaw Ridge” did.

Since “Braveheart,” it has been very difficult to find another war movie that will pierce your heart into pieces. (Note: I haven’t watched “Saving Private Ryan” until now.)

When Christianity seemed so silent especially in Hollywood that it creates very small voice once in a while, “Hacksaw Ridge” presents a movie not explicitly promoting or focusing on a particular religion, but shows the very essence of being a human.

After the credits, that’s the only time I remembered that it was directed by Mel Gibson, the actor and maker of “Braveheart.” Surely, he made another masterpiece again. I like the cinematography and sound editing.

Watching the film felt like I was placed in the middle of a real war and the battle seemed true. I will not tell the plot here, but this movie should be watched especially these times that we need redemption. Honor, conviction, and heroism are three things that will definitely make us understand our humanity even more.

The best thing about the movie is it was a true story.

One thought on “Hacksaw Ridge

  1. This was a really awesome movie. I had no idea who Doss was and how much of a hero he was. Great review, you’ve got my follow. Check out my comedy blog and give it a follow if you like it!

Leave a Reply

