article

The Return of the Researcher

I have attended several classes in the grad school that emphasized the important roles of researchers. So far, I think I was able to perform most–if not– all of them when I gathered my data, wrote my thesis, and defended it.

 

But there was one more thing that I have not accomplished even after my graduation.

 

When I began my research, I experienced a hard time in looking for a private school for my study. I got rejected once, and I was kept waiting for another one. It was a blessing in disguise when a school, which I have not expected and I feared would reject me, accommodated me to gather my data.

 

The administrator who helped me just asked one favor in return. She asked me to come back after I wrote my thesis to report my findings and recommendations for the benefit of their institution. Of course, I said yes. I hold so much gratitude to deny that request.

 

After my defense, I got busy with completing all the requirements for graduation. That was also the beginning of classes. I almost forgot about my promise.

 

When I found time during the last week of July, I drafted a letter and prepared a report for that school. I told myself that one of these days I would be visiting their school.

 

One Monday morning, I felt I had a lot of free time. I texted the administrator who is now already the school principal. I texted her if it was a good time for me to drop by and visit.  I set the time, and she agreed. Moments later, I found out that I was needed in a meeting with our principal. I felt embarrassed because I already set the time. I just sent a message again, fearing the reaction of the administrator. As it was her nature, she responded kindly.

 

After our meeting, I rushed to the school. The administrator welcomed me joyfully as she congratulated me in my completion of my master’s degree. I thanked her and said my congratulations as well for her becoming the new principal.

 

We discussed our findings, and it was a dialogue. As I narrated my report, she actively gave her reactions and observations as well. I did not anticipate, but we actually talked for more than an hour. Besides the report, we occasionally diverted our conversation with snippets of her grad school experience,  her principalship, my plans, and other mundane things.  I really enjoyed our talk.

 

I thanked the administrator for all the help. Without her acceptance last year, I might have not been able to finish my thesis on time.

 

When I thought that my duty ended after I got my degree, it was a humbling experience to go back to one of the schools and share my findings. It was a remarkable moment to be able to impart what I found in my research. The work had been laborious and tiring, but being able to share the fruits of the study gave a sheer satisfaction.

 

The administrator encouraged me to pursue a doctorate degree. I responded with a smile, “I’ll get a wife first.”

Leave a Reply

